

# MESSAGE BY MEC FOR COGTA MS. RM MTSHWENI (MPL)

The Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) has obtained a clean audit for the 2013/14 financial year. This is in line with operation clean audit 2014 imperative and President Jacob Zuma's call in which he declared 2014 as a year of clean audits. This achievement can be attributed to a high level of commitment

by the officials in the department. It is also signal enough that the department's internal financial controlsand management systems are effective. This achievement is no mean feat and as such will serve as an impetus to improve public perception.

Moving forward, the department is working hard to cascade this achievement to all the 21 municipalities. We have not fared well in relation to the Auditor-General's audit outcomes. Only two of our municipalities have obtained clean audits during the 2012/13 financial year. The municipalities are Steve Tshwete Local and Ehlanzeni District. This is despite a developed turn around strategy and the implementation of audit remedial action.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed between COGTA and the Provincial Department of Finance. However, some of the recomemndations of the MOU were not fully implemented. As a result of this non implementation, deficiencies excerbated in terms of the financial management, systems controls and improvement in the audit outcomes.

In this financial year, the Executive Council (EXCO) took a decision that we synchronize our intervention and have a dedicated structure to provide and focus support to our municipalities. An Integrated Municipal Support Plan has been developed and approved by EXCO. This plan is a key element for the municipal clean audit outcomes.

STATS SA recently released the latest figures of people who receive basic services from municipalities. The figures show an increase of people with access to water, electricity, sewerage and sanitation and solid waste management. Mpumalanga came second after the Western Cape with the highest number of people with access to water at 56.3%

The new administration has employed a radical approach to increase the number of people with access to water and sanitation. The installation of the 9 steel water projects in three municipalities, namely: Mbombela, Bushbuckridge and Nkomazi in this financial year seeks to increase the number of people with access to water, in line with the National Development Plan (NDP) and the Mpumalanga Vision 2030. These plans seek to ensure that all households have access to water by 2030 and the steel water interventions are key elements for the NDP and Mpumalanga vision outcomes.

Water illegal connections are a serious cause for concern. The pipelines are a public property and those who connect illegally commit crime. We call on our people to stop this illegal act as it undermines the supply of water to affected communities. Furthermore we call upon all communities to protect the infrastructure. We are working with law enforcement agencies to arrest those who commit the crime.

## THE FACE OF MPUMALANGA MUNICIPALITIES



Cllr. Mishack Nhlabathi Mayor: Gert Sibande District Municipality

Cllr. Sibusiso Mathonsi

Mayor: Mbombela

**Local Municipality** 

Cllr. Renias Khumalo

Mayor: Bushbuckridge

**Local Municipality** 



Cllr. Lettie Masina Mayor: Govan Mbeki Local Municipality



Cllr. Selina Mashego Mayor: Thaba Chweu Local Municipality



Cllr. Linda Dlamini Mayor: Lekwa Local Municipality



Cllr. Ntombizodwa Makhabane Mayor: Victor Khanye Local Municipality



Cllr. Ndaweni Mahlangu Mayor: Thembisile Hani Local Municipality



Cllr. Noliqwa Nhlapho Mayor: Dipaleseng Local Municipality



Cllr. Busisiwe Shiba Mayor: Chief Albert Luthuli Local Municipality



Cllr. Hamza Ngwenya Mayor: Emakhazeni Local Municipality



Cllr. Phalaborwa Malatsi Mayor: Pixley Ka Isaka Seme Local Municipality



Cllr. Lindiwe Ntshalintshali Mayor: Emalahleni Local Municipality



Cllr. Michael Masina Mayor: Steve Tshwete Local Municipality



Cllr. Thomas Ngwenya Mayor: Nkangala District Municipality



Cllr. Lettah Shongwe Mayor: Ehlanzeni District Municipality



Cllr. Thulisile Khoza Mayor: Nkomazi Local Municipality



Cllr. Bhekabantu Mtshali Mayor: Mkhondo Local Municipality



Cllr. Sipho Bongwe Mayor: Msukaligwa Local Municipality



Cllr. Rhoda Mathabe Mayor: Dr JS Moroka Local Municipality



Cllr. Lazaros Mashaba Mayor: Umjindi Local Municipality

# CONTACT DETAILS

### **HEAD OFFICE**

Building No.6 &7
Riverside Government Complex
Mbombela
1200

### **POSTAL ADRESS**

Private bag X 11304 Mbombela 1200

### **CONTACT NUMBER**

Tel: (013) 766 6087 Fax: (013) 766 8441/2

### **WEBSITE**

http://cgta.mpg.gov.za

### **DISASTER TOLL FREE**

080 020 2507





# THE FACE OF MPUMALANGA MUNICIPALITIES

"Together, we move South Africa forward".



